Q: In your response to the question regarding permissibility of fine bone china (29.12.10) you state that bone china is permissible for Muslims to use as it is made from cattle bones which is reduced to ash, therefore purified in that process. I would just like to clarify, whether bone china is always made from cattle bones and if not would the same ruling apply if there was a possibility that it may contain bone ashes of forbidden animals such as swine?
A. As far as our research goes bone china is only made from cattle bones. However if it is proven that the swine is also used then that will be totally Haraam.
Mufti Siraj Desai